Getting Married in Massachusetts

You do not have to be a resident to be legally married in Massachusetts* but you must apply in person to obtain a marriage license issued by a Massachusetts city or town clerk.

You may file for your license at any city or town, regardless of where you marry within the state. ​Click here for a complete list of Massachusetts city and town websites where you can information about each clerk’s office.

Getting Married in Massachusetts

You do not have to be a resident to be legally married in Massachusetts* but you must apply in person to obtain a marriage license issued by a Massachusetts city or town clerk.

You may file for your license at any city or town, regardless of where you marry within the state. ​Click here for a complete list of Massachusetts city and town websites where you can information about each clerk’s office.

  • Both partners must go together, in person, to any Massachusetts city or town clerk to file your Notice of Intention of Marriage form no more than 60 days prior to your wedding ceremony.
  • In addition to paying the application fee (which varies by location but is generally $25-50), each person will need to provide proof of age (you must be 18 or older) and Social Security number.
  • Once your application has been filed, there is a 3-day waiting period before you can pick up your license. In certain circumstances, couples can seek to have the waiting period waived by that city or town’s probate or district court.
  • Your marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date your application was filed. If you are not married within the 60 days, you must apply for a new license.
  • After the wedding ceremony, I will sign and return your marriage license to the issuing city or town clerk to be recorded. No witnesses are required in Massachusetts.
  • Both partners must go together, in person, to any Massachusetts city or town clerk to file your Notice of Intention of Marriage form no more than 60 days prior to your wedding ceremony.
  • In addition to paying the application fee (which varies by location but is generally $25-50), each person will need to provide proof of age (you must be 18 or older) and Social Security number.
  • Once your application has been filed, there is a 3-day waiting period before you can pick up your license. In certain circumstances, couples can seek to have the waiting period waived by that city or town’s probate or district court.
  • Your marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date your application was filed. If you are not married within the 60 days, you must apply for a new license.
  • After the wedding ceremony, I will sign and return your marriage license to the issuing city or town clerk to be recorded. No witnesses are required in Massachusetts.
  • Some clerks require appointments and/or keep irregular hours. Call or check their website before going in person to file your marriage intentions.
  • Some offices do not accept credit cards. Contact the clerk where you will apply for your license to confirm accepted forms of payment.
  • Valid forms of identification vary between clerk’s offices (this can include birth certificate, passport, driver’s license, state or military ID, etc.). Be prepared to provide all materials required by the clerk where you file for your marriage license.
  • Any previous marriages must be legally dissolved for at least one day before applying for your license. In Massachusetts, a divorce is not considered final until after 90 days. You can inquire with the issuing clerk whether proof of your divorce decree is required.
  • Proof of marriage is necessary for name changes, insurance and more. For most locations, you will not receive a marriage certificate unless you request to purchase a copy from the issuing town or city clerk, available for a small fee after the license has been filed.
  • Some clerks require appointments and/or keep irregular hours. Call or check their website before going in person to file your marriage intentions.
  • Some offices do not accept credit cards. Contact the clerk where you will apply for your license to confirm accepted forms of payment.
  • Valid forms of identification vary between clerk’s offices (this can include birth certificate, passport, driver’s license, state or military ID, etc.). Be prepared to provide all materials required by the clerk where you file for your marriage license.
  • Any previous marriages must be legally dissolved for at least one day before applying for your license. In Massachusetts, a divorce is not considered final until after 90 days. You can inquire with the issuing clerk whether proof of your divorce decree is required.
  • Proof of marriage is necessary for name changes, insurance and more. For most locations, you will not receive a marriage certificate unless you request to purchase a copy from the issuing town or city clerk, available for a small fee after the license has been filed.
  • Officiant Name: Hannah Grace Gyovai
  • Designation: Member of the Clergy
  • Address: 71 King Street  Northampton, MA  01060
  • Officiant Name: Hannah Grace Gyovai
  • Designation: Member of the Clergy
  • Address: 71 King Street  Northampton, MA  01060

Find more information, links and documents on the Mass.Gov website.

*For non-Massachusetts weddings, note that some states require special permission and/or additional fees for marriages performed by out-of-state clergy.  Contact me for location-specific information about your event. ​​

Find more information, links and documents on the Mass.Gov website.

*For non-Massachusetts weddings, note that some states require special permission and/or additional fees for marriages performed by out-of-state clergy.  Contact me for location-specific information about your event. ​​